Forums

Orthen = Fossil Island?

Quick find code: 15-16-735-66101567

of 13
Dilbert2001
Jun Gold Premier Club Member 2006

Dilbert2001

Posts: 10,007Opal Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Why does Jagex want to change their mind?

If they want to put Fossil Island on RS3, they can easily put it where it belongs.

The spot occupied by the Fossil Island in OSRS is absolutely available. Either Jagex put Fossil Island there or anything they put elsewhere won't be Fossil Island.

Are you going to tell Jagex and their merchanize store their official Fine Art Print of the Official Illustrated Map of Gielinor is becoming garbage just because they want to make another "Fossil Island" in a different location for absolutely no reason?

https://runescape.backstreetmerch.com/en-us/artist/runescape/fine-art-prints/900mm-x-600mm-map-of-gielinor-fine-art-print

I don't think so... absolutely no real world marketing reason to do that. :D

21-May-2019 02:26:30

Cinderlynn
Jul Gold Premier Club Member 2008

Cinderlynn

Posts: 1,008Mithril Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
No that's not what I meant not even close! I'm saying Jagex can change things afterward(The shrouded island certainly isn't on the map! Also I checked your link and it just says it shows locations from both games! That doesn't mean they would have to be in the same place in both games! And the map is absolutely lovely! My comment was meant to say things are not set in stone! Acheron is on gielinor somewhere!

21-May-2019 02:33:44 - Last edited on 21-May-2019 02:41:35 by Cinderlynn

Dilbert2001
Jun Gold Premier Club Member 2006

Dilbert2001

Posts: 10,007Opal Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Cinderlynn said:
No that's not what I meant not even close! I'm saying Jagex can change things afterward(The shrouded island certainly isn't on the map! Also I checked your link and it just says it shows locations from both games! That doesn't mean they would have to be in the same place in both games! And the map is absolutely lovely! My comment was meant to say things are not set in stone! Acheron is on gielinor somewhere!


"It shows locations from both games" mean the same locations. Otherwise there could be 2 Fossil Islands and 2 Zeahs on the same Gielinor Map. :D

Why would Jagex want to put Fossil Island in a different location in RS3 than OSRS anyway? No freaking reason. :D

21-May-2019 02:51:11

Uriel
Aug Gold Premier Club Member 2010

Uriel

Posts: 8,562Rune Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Dilbert2001 said:
Uriel said:
Dilbert2001 said:
For those who are still guessing or hoping... let's me give you something more to think about:

The shadowish island on the RS3 map is east of NORTH of High Wildy, above the gate...

The OSRS Fossil Island is east of mid Wildy...

OK. Now you may comment or keep guessing... or hoping... ;)


Osrs and rs3 hold no lore or geographical association to each other. So comparisons between the two games weigh nothing.


So a RS3 island not named Fossil Island and is not on the same location of the Fossil Island in the OSRS version of Gielinor "is" Fossil Island?????

Why don't you tell me a tropical island near the equator = the North Pole? :D:D:D:D:D:D


As a matter of fact, Fossil Island actually originally RS3 content... It was first teased when the Varrock Museum came out, over 10 years ago, and over the course of years was hinted to be a dragonkin related place. In 2015 it was also being polled which area they should make, where another area (menaphos) clearly got a bigger demand. OSRS simply took their own interpretation of it, but that doesn't mean that the OSRS variation is the cannon intended version and/or location. I have no idea if, given by your posts, you're trolling or not, but given that you've been playing this game for at least 13 years now, I would've assumed you would know.

Also, speaking of locations, keep in mind that OSRS is older than RS3, and so many locations OSRS utilized are no longer available. For example, OSRS doesn't have Deamonheim. So anything that WOULD be near that location, no longer can.
Roawr.

21-May-2019 14:36:22 - Last edited on 21-May-2019 15:06:14 by Uriel

Uriel
Aug Gold Premier Club Member 2010

Uriel

Posts: 8,562Rune Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Lego Miester said:
I wouldn't have believed you if they hadn't updated the digsite area.

IT'S HAPPENING BOYS.

the dragonkin ties to fossil island in osrs pretty much seal the deal. For reference, in OSRS there's "Fossil Island" as the main island with an overgrown dragonkin lab on it, and "Lithkren", a formerly dragonkin-inhabited island off its coast.

Much like OSRS's take on Prifddinas, we can probably expect some similarities, but not necessarily the same look or content contained within. We're basically a diverged timeline, to put it simply. Think Warlords of Draenor in WoW.


Even outside OSRS's contribution, Fossil Island was already famed to be a dragonkin location in RS3. We just never got to see it before OSRS released it.
Roawr.

21-May-2019 15:08:15

Dilbert2001
Jun Gold Premier Club Member 2006

Dilbert2001

Posts: 10,007Opal Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
@Cinderlynn

No. Fossil Island lost to THE ARC, not Menaphos.

No. Mod Mark's idea on the original Fossil Island did not hint on it being a dragonkin place but just an island with only one dragonkin. Dragonkin are obviously in other places, most noticeably the dragonkin places are Daemonheim and the Dragonkin Lab. This will also be the answer to Uriel.

No. Daemonheim is no on OSRS's map doesn't mean that piece of land is not on the 5th Age OSRS Gielinor, just that it has been discovered and been utililized for any activities in the game.

21-May-2019 16:47:39

Uriel
Aug Gold Premier Club Member 2010

Uriel

Posts: 8,562Rune Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Yeah sorry meant the Ark. Same poll though.

But YES, it was hinted to be part of Dragonkin lore/association. A lore livestream in 2012 even confirmed so. Source: youtube, /watch?v=WQg_xYVKQJY
Roawr.

21-May-2019 17:02:12 - Last edited on 21-May-2019 17:03:28 by Uriel

Dilbert2001
Jun Gold Premier Club Member 2006

Dilbert2001

Posts: 10,007Opal Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Uriel said:
Yeah sorry meant the Ark. Same poll though.

But YES, it was hinted to be part of Dragonkin lore/association. A lore livestream in 2012 even confirmed so. Source: youtube, /watch?v=WQg_xYVKQJY


Mod Mark clearly said Only One Dragonkin on the then Fossil Island. He was asked "Dragonkin, how many". He said "One". Then he was asked "Just one?". He replied, "Yes, Just One Dragonkin".

Mod Mark's idea of Fossil Island was obviously a place with only one dragonkin, not the "first city" of the dragonkin like Orthen.

21-May-2019 18:22:09

Quick find code: 15-16-735-66101567Back to Top