Forums

reCAPTCHA - reason for decline

Quick find code: 278-279-750-66123931

of 3
Dong U Dead

Dong U Dead

Posts: 23,266Opal Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
reCAPTCHA - reason for decline in RSOF numbers?

Why are Jagex using this?

reCAPTCHA is not clear. It's bugged and if we have problems we have to take it up with Google. I have major problems with it on my phone, I'm not alone. Last night I gave up trying to solve it - went to my PC where I have no problems. It shouldn't be like this. Jagex needs to be using phone friendly graphics (or whatever you call it). If they are using outside apps/websites (or whatever they are called) it needs to be phone friendly. Especially now phones are a big part of the RS gaming experience.

Jagex needs to rethink about the use of reCAPTCHA as it doesn't always work on the phone.
~~~Shady, Badass NPC's~~~

05-Oct-2019 22:54:26 - Last edited on 05-Oct-2019 22:55:11 by Dong U Dead

333333333

333333333

Posts: 27,311Sapphire Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Strangely I never get captchas in my phone but only on my computer!
However I use a bot to solve them for me while the seconds it needs I just go to other tabs!
My goals and achievements on F2P accounts! ---> Thread! <---

05-Oct-2019 23:13:46

NonMax Jake

NonMax Jake

Posts: 7,132Rune Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Yeah, noticed it popping up a lot lately. But I don't think that impacts forum participation tbh.
<Players against animal abuse> <One of few forumers against racism>

<Imagine if people stereotyped people from the UK or USA based on what their government or a select few do>

06-Oct-2019 04:56:56

Spearmint30
Apr Gold Premier Club Member 2012

Spearmint30

Posts: 19,144Opal Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Dong U Dead said:
reCAPTCHA - reason for decline in RSOF numbers?

Why are Jagex using this?
Indeed, check out the post
Archaeox
mentions above as it explains both that reCAPTCHA is 1) not part of the forums, but the website login flow and 2) why Jagex is using it

The reason any bugs found in the system are taken up with Google is due to that being the developer of the software, not Jagex. For what it's worth, I haven't seen any JMods deny that people may be having issues with the system but I believe it's probably working just fine for more players than those having any issues. Seeing as Jagex can't make any modifications to how reCAPTCHA works, they ask that any bugs found be reported to Google so the issues can be corrected and resolved.
Spearmint30

¤
I wish there was a way to know you're in the good old days before you've actually left them. (S09 EP23)
¤

06-Oct-2019 08:06:05

Dong U Dead

Dong U Dead

Posts: 23,266Opal Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Archaeox said:
I suggest that you read Mod Lyon's closing statement on this earlier thread about reCaptcha.

I read it, the poor guy's having the same problem and Jagex is just passing the buck. Not there problem - people having problems logging, not their problem we don't give a shit, it's now Googles - good job Jagex on looking after your customers - bring in a faulty product which you dont' give to hoots about. Shocking!
~~~Shady, Badass NPC's~~~

06-Oct-2019 09:52:05 - Last edited on 06-Oct-2019 09:53:04 by Dong U Dead

Wolfblue42

Wolfblue42

Posts: 3,867Adamant Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
I find having to login in general annoying, wish we could stay logged in a few days like other sites. The captcha on top of that just makes it obnoxious.

I'm not that annoyed with it, that I refuse to visit the site. It's just the amount of times you must suffer through that it gets old.

I get captcha every login and I tend to log in every day or 2 days. Gets really annoying. But they said they are sticking with so oh well.

06-Oct-2019 17:25:11

Quick find code: 278-279-750-66123931Back to Top