Forums

Compatability mode?

Quick find code: 409-410-58-66086400

Moordinaar
Oct Gold Premier Club Member 2017

Moordinaar

Posts: 15Bronze Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
I cant play off compatibility mode otherwise my client crashes at random times and gives the excuse that heaps are messed up somehow. Ive deleted my cache 3 times and reinstalled it 3 times and it still happens. When im on comp. mode, I stutter with my frames fairly often or just generally have loading problems. I opened up the dev console with ALT + ~ and I see that I only have 2GB of memory, my real question and problem is … how can I fix that so that my client has more memory? ive looked on youtube and nobody has any info on it within the last 5 years, and the RS website also has no help for it.... what can I do to increase my memory? ive looked for runescape.prm but it doesn't exist apparently?

28-Feb-2019 03:19:25

Pinguicula

Pinguicula

Posts: 9,347Rune Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Unfortunately some people have the issues you're having. The reasons are unclear. You're using the NXT client. There is no runescape.prm file for that client. You're not meant to be able to change the amount of memory the NXT client uses. It takes care of itself. Why do you think increasing the amount of memory will fix your problem? The legacy Java client has a runescape.prm file that you can edit. You can still get the legacy Java client here.

28-Feb-2019 04:36:27 - Last edited on 28-Feb-2019 04:39:55 by Pinguicula

Moordinaar
Oct Gold Premier Club Member 2017

Moordinaar

Posts: 15Bronze Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
I think that memory might be a problem because every time I look at the client.... the memory flows into the … I guess "red zone" and it lags at the same time every time it does that so I figure that must be the cause.

28-Feb-2019 04:50:41

Pinguicula

Pinguicula

Posts: 9,347Rune Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
What are the specs of your computer? Is it a desktop or laptop? As I mentioned you can't force the NXT client to use more memory. I'm running the NXT client and have about 1300 MB of memory being used by it. The number is yellow. I'm not sure you can really infer much from the number color. I think the people that made the NXT client just picked a certain number range for red, yellow, and green. What does it say next to disk cache?

28-Feb-2019 05:11:48

Hax
Oct Gold Premier Club Member 2017

Hax

Posts: 250Silver Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
Welp…. My 2 cents....


When I play on my potato (movie time) I open my client and if often fails to load the game.

Often asking if I want to swap to compatibility mode. If I say yes it functions horribly so I have to edit the settings by right clicking the client desktop Icon. So I just X out and retry. Anyways.... I found by closing and re opening sometimes more than once, it will eventually load and seems to work decently fine in low detail.


Hope this helps, as for a fix.... Not from me sorry.

28-Feb-2019 05:33:23

Moordinaar
Oct Gold Premier Club Member 2017

Moordinaar

Posts: 15Bronze Posts by user Forum Profile RuneMetrics Profile
I think its safe to assume that the specs have nothing to do with whats going on. The memory for mine is over 2000mb and yet every time I lag it spikes, I just wish I could figure out what the hell this was and why the client keeps telling me something is corrupted, even though ive completely deleted everything 3-4 times and same issue persists beyond different installs. nothing else has ever occurred on my computer, its 100% fine every single other time except when I play runescape.

06-Mar-2019 02:17:58

Quick find code: 409-410-58-66086400Back to Top